Wink


HOW TO SUBMIT YOUR BOOK FOR REVIEW:
Email me a query letter at tmw [at] sfreviews [dot] net for the snail mail address. I currently receive a high volume of review copies from major publishers, so small press titles, sadly, can no longer be accepted without an initial query. This site only reviews professional publications available through commercial outlets. If your book is only available through your website, I do not consider it a professional publication. Please note I cannot guarantee a review. Read small press guidelines here.


Sound Off in the Forum

All reviews and site design © by Thomas M. Wagner. SF Reviews.net logo by Charles Hurst. Wink the Astrokitty drawn by Matt Olson. All rights reserved. Book cover artwork is copyrighted by its respective artist and/or publisher.




Welcome to SF REVIEWS.NET, where discriminating readers of SF and fantasy will find in-depth reviews of hundreds of books both new and old. Thanks for visiting and I hope you find the site a helpful resource for years to come! Set a bookmark or subscribe to the RSS feed.
Thomas M. Wagner
(If you're a first-time visitor, check the Greeting page.)
Bookmark and Share

SFF180 — SFReviews.net New YouTube Series

I am proud to announce SFF180, the companion YouTube channel of SFReviews.net. In March 2015 it passed its first 1000 subscribers. The majority of new-release titles I review will now recieve both text and video reviews. Classic and retro titles will typically recieve only written reviews.

MAILBAG MONDAY: Showcasing all new review copies received for each week.


TOTAL BOOKS REVIEWED: 711
LATEST ADDITIONS RSS feed button

NEWEST LISTINGS

  • New The Book of Phoenix / Nnedi Okorafor four stars (added 7/27/15)
    A genetically engineered superwoman breaks free from the lab that created her and launches a violent rebellion against her former masters in this passionate and angry prequel to Okorafor's WFA-winning Who Fears Death.
  • New Seveneves / Neal Stephenson four stars (added 6/9/15)
    The sudden and unexplained destruction of the moon leaves the remnants of humanity in scattered orbital habitats, with the future of the species in the hands of seven women. It's only two-thirds of a great novel, but those two-thirds are great indeed.
  • New The Vorrh / B. Catling four and a half stars (added 5/11/15)
    A sinister, uncharted forest deep within colonial Africa draws adventurers into its haunted depths in this immersive, dreamlike epic that entangles history and New Weird fiction. A must for the Miéville set.
  • The Three-Body Problem / Liu Cixin Three and a half stars (added 4/19/15)
    A virtual-reality game and a mysterious message from deep space herald an alien invasion in this Hugo-and-Nebula nominated hard SF mind-bender from Chinese bestseller Liu Cixin, gracefully translated by award-winning author Ken Liu.
  • The Buried Giant / Kazuo Ishiguro Three and a half stars (added 4/01/15)
    The haunting, eerily beautiful yet often emotionally troubling odyssey of an elderly Briton couple living in post-Arthurian medieval England, who set out on a journey to reunite with their son, across a bleak landscape shrouded by a fog that causes everyone to lose their memory.
  • Lagoon / Nnedi Okorafor Four stars (added 3/16/15)
    Aliens land off the coast of Lagos, Nigeria, in this energetic and wildly entertaining mashup of SF and the New Weird by World Fantasy Award winner Okorafor.
  • Trigger Warning / Neil Gaiman Four stars (added 2/3/15)
    Unquiet ghosts and fading memories, secrets and lies, the monsters that lurk deep within ourselves, and the blurred lines between imagination and real life — these are the stories and poems that make up Neil Gaiman's newest collection.

EARLIER LISTINGS

  • The Mirror Empire / Kameron Hurley Four stars (added 11/17/14)
    Hurley's fourth novel is a career-defining work set on a world surrounded by a magically-infused dark star and facing the threat of invasion from an alternate-universe counterpart of itself. Bold, audacious, gender-bending epic that forces a rethinking of many tropes we have been trained to accept from the genre.

This site is dedicated to the memory of Johnny M. Lee, who passed away tragically in 1991. Johnny was something of a mentor figure to me when I got into SF fandom as a teenager in the 80's, and he is still missed.

"In the arts, the critic is the only independent source of information. The rest is advertising." —Pauline Kael
"If you are in difficulties with a book, try the element of surprise: attack it at an hour when it isn't expecting it."
—H.G. Wells